Skip to main content

Gulf Coast Research and Education Center

Gulf Coast Research and Education Center

Dr. Samuel Hutton

Associate Professor of Horticulture

Dr. Samuel Hutton’s research focuses on developing improved tomato hybrids and parents adapted to Florida’s subtropical conditions and relevant to the Florida tomato industry.

His program emphasizes genetic characterization of important traits and utilization of molecular tools to more efficiently advance these traits into commercial germplasm. These efforts are supported through collaborations with the University of Florida and other researchers in areas, including pathology, entomology, genomics and postharvest.

  • Research

    Dr. Samuel Hutton’s research focuses on developing improved tomato hybrids and parents adapted to Florida’s subtropical conditions and relevant to the Florida tomato industry.

    His program emphasizes genetic characterization of important traits and utilization of molecular tools to more efficiently advance these traits into commercial germplasm. These efforts are supported through collaborations with the University of Florida and other researchers in areas, including pathology, entomology, genomics and postharvest.

  • Extension
  • Lab Team
    Lab Phone Number: 813-419-6609
    Staff MemberContact Information
    Nathan Brown, Bio Scientist II jnbrown@ufl.edu
    Ian Cheng, Grad Student ian.chang@ufl.edu
    Jessica Chitwood-Brown, Grad Student jchitwood@ufl.edu
    Dolly Cummings, Bio Scientist II dollyc@ufl.edu
    Tim Davis, Bio Scientist II timmyd@ufl.edu
    Gill Upinder, PostDoc ugill@ufl.edu
    Rafaela Gomes, OPS rgomesruschel@ufl.edu
    Judith Lopez, Ag Assistant II jlopezrodriguez@ufl.edu
    Edgar Sierra, Grad Student e.sierra@ufl.edu
    John Smeda, PostDoc smeda.john@ufl.edu
    Kazuyo Ueda, Bio Scientist II kaueda@ufl.edu

Contact

Rm. 171
Gulf Coast Research and Education Center
14625 County Road 672
Wimauma, FL 33598
813-419-6610
sfhutton@ufl.edu

  • Education

    Education:

    • Ph.D. Horticulture, University of Florida, 2008
    • M.S. Plant Breeding, University of Minnesota, 2004
    • B.S. Agronomy, Mississippi State University, 2000
  • Publications
  • Professional Service and Awards
    • Vance Publishing’s Second Annual 40 Under 40 Award, 2014 
    • Paul J. DiMare Foundation Term Professorship, Chair, 2010 – Present
    • American Society for Horticultural Science, Vegetable Breeding Working Group Secretary, 2013–2014