Skip to main content

Gulf Coast Research and Education Center

Gulf Coast Research and Education Center

Gulf Coast PostDoc and Student Association (GCPSA) Mission, Activities and Officers

 Mission

  • To enhance communication and networking between graduate students, postdoctoral scholars and faculty within and outside the GCREC.
  • To foster outreach with the industrial and academic scientific communities.
  • To provide professional enrichment opportunities to graduate students and postdoctoral scholars.
  • To create and promote intellectual, social, and cultural opportunities, between graduate students, postdoctoral scholars and faculty within and outside the GCREC.
  • To foster professional mentorship relationships among the postdoctoral scholars and graduate students
  • To promote the use of peer groups as a resource for solving challenging research problems.
  • To foster interdisciplinary collaboration, as is appropriate and feasible, among postdoctoral researchers and graduate students in different research groups

Main Activities

  • Every other Thursday throughout the fall and spring, students and postdocs are encouraged to present their research to the GCREC community.
  • Professional development events and workshops.
  • Fieldtrips to in-state research facilities both private and public.
  • Social events to promote networking within the center's scientific community.

Future programs

If you have any questions, suggestions or if you wish to participate, please contact any GCPSA officer.

Executive Committee


 

President - Edgar Sierra
e.sierra@ufl.edu


 

Vice President - Gabrieli Riva
gabrieliriva@ufl.edu


 

Secretary -Leonard Gaspar
lgaspar@ufl.edu

 

Treasurer - Mark Porter
markporter@ufl.edu

 

Program Development Officer - Lillian Pride
Lpride3@ufl.edu

 

Marketing and Communication Officer - Esnai Munthali
emunthali@ufl.edu

 

Plant City Campus Representative - Junaid Lone
j.lone@ufl.edu

 

Faculty Advisor - Dr. Sriyanka Lahiri
lahiris@ufl.edu