Skip to main content

Gulf Coast Research and Education Center

Gulf Coast Research and Education Center

Dr. Hugh Smith

Associate Professor of Entomology and Nematology

Dr. Hugh Smith carries out research on managing insect and mite pests of horticultural crops that affect Florida agriculture. Chemical, biological, and cultural approaches to pest suppression are evaluated in collaboration with growers, industry members, University of Florida researchers, and elsewhere.

Extension programs emphasize training to identify pest and beneficial arthropods and to manage insecticide resistance.

  • Research

    Dr. Smith's research focuses on the evaluating new and established insecticides for managing key pests of horticultural crops, including whiteflies, broad mites, and pepper weevil. In addition, research efforts evaluate integrated management of horticultural pests in high tunnels and other protected structures.

  • Extension

    The vegetable entomology Extension program at GCREC provides training in identifying pest and beneficial arthropods, methods for scouting and managing arthropod pests, and information on managing the development of insecticide resistance among pests of horticultural crops.

  • Lab Team
    Lab Phone Number: 813-419-6587
    Staff MemberContact Information
    Laurel Chambers, Lab Tech I laurelkchambers@ufl.edu
    Megan Hennessey, OPS Field Tech meganhen@ufl.edu
    Amanda Furuya, Grad Student amandafuruya@ufl.edu
    Cleveland Ivey, Grad Student civey@ufl.edu
    Tiffani Long, OPS Field Tech tiffanilong@ufl.edu
    Esnai Munthali, Grad Student emunthali@ufl.edu
    Sierra Ray, OPS Field Tech sierraray@ufl.edu
    Mary Lou Robins, OPS Field Tech robins.marylou@ufl.edu
    Elise Schuchman, OPS Field Tech elise.schuchman@ufl.edu
    Courtney Sherman, OPS Field Tech courtneysherman@ufl.edu

Contact

Rm. 131
Gulf Coast Research and Education Center
14625 County Road 672
Wimauma, FL 33598
813-419-6588
hughasmith@ufl.edu