Faculty Directory

Documents are in PDF format. Download Adobe Reader to view them.

Jack Rechcigl
Center Director
Professor
Soil and Water Sciences
813-419-6571
rechcigl@ufl.edu | Rm. 103

Gary Vallad
Associate Center Director/Assoc Professor
Plant Pathology
Vegetables and Ornamentals
813-419-6577
gvallad@ufl.edu | Rm. 109

Balm

Shinsuke Agehara
Assistant Professor
Horticultural Sciences
Small Fruits and Vegetables
813-419-6583
sagehara@ufl.edu | Rm. 126


Nathan Boyd
Associate Professor
Horticultural Sciences/Weed Science
Small Fruits, Vegetables and Ornamentals
813-419-6613
nsboyd@ufl.edu | Rm. 174


Zhanao Deng 
Professor
Environmental Horticulture
Floriculture Breeding
813-419-6605
zdeng@ufl.edu | Rm. 166


Johan Desaeger
Assistant Professor
Entomology and Nematology
Nematology
813-419-6592
jad@ufl.edu | Rm. 133

Zhengfei Guan
Assistant Professor
Food and Resource Economics
Agricultural Economics
813-419-6590
guanz@ufl.edu | Rm. 172


Samuel Hutton
Associate Professor
Horticultural Sciences
Tomato Breeding
813-419-6610
sfhutton@ufl.edu | Rm. 171

Andrew Koeser
Assistant Professor
Environmental Horticulture
Landscaping and Ornamentals
813-419-6589
akoeser@ufl.edu | Rm. 132



Seonghee Lee
Assistant Professor
Strawberry Genetics
813-419-6611
seonghee105@ufl.edu | Rm. 172

 

Tong Geon Lee
Assistant Professor
Horticultural Sciences
Tomato Breeding
813-419-6607
tonggeonlee@ufl.edu | Rm. 168

 

Mary Lusk  
Assistant Professor
Soil and Water Sciences
813-419-6586
mary.lusk@ufl.edu | Rm. 129


Natalia Peres
Professor
Plant Pathology
Strawberries and Ornamentals
813-419-6602
nperes@ufl.edu | Rm. 161

 


Hugh Smith
Associate Professor
Entomology
Vegetables
813-419-6588
hughasmith@ufl.edu | Rm. 131


Vance Whitaker
Associate Professor
Horticultural Sciences
Strawberry Breeding
813-419-6608
vwhitaker@ufl.edu | Rm. 196

Plant City

Amr Abd-Elrahman
Associate Professor
Geomatics
813-757-2283
aamr@ufl.edu


Debra Barry
Lecturer
Agricultural Education
813-757-2288
dmbarry@ufl.edu

 

Kati Lawson
Lecturer
Communication/Leadership
813-757-2284
katilawson@ufl.edu
 
   
Emeritus Faculty
Craig  Stanley

Craig Stanley
Professor of Soil and Water Sciences
cdstan@ufl.edu

Sydney Park Brown

Sydney Park Brown
University of Florida/IFAS
Adjunct Faculty – Center for Landscape Conservation and Ecology, Associate Professor – Emeritus
spbrown@ufl.edu – 813-927-8298

 

Jay Scott

Jay Scott
Professor, Emeritus
Horticultural Sciences
Tomato Breeding
jwsc@ufl.edu | Rm. 168

Dr. James E. Dyer

James Dyer
Professor, Emeritus
Ag Education
jedyer@ufl.edu

Born and raised in Belgium, Desaeger graduated as an agricultural engineer from the University of Ghent. He started working with nematodes in 1994 in Kenya at the International Center for Research in Agroforestry. After completing his PhD in Applied Biological Sciences from the University of Leuven in 2001, he moved to the US to work on nematode management in vegetables at the Universities of Florida and Georgia. Desaeger then made the leap to industry in 2005 when he joined DuPont to start up a nematology program at their former research facility in Delaware.


Now back in Florida, he has joined the UF/IFAS faculty in the summer of 2016 to build a new nematology research group at the GCREC. Desaeger now lives in a quiet home backed by a large swath of wetlands with my wife Karla and his new Florida brown dog, Toby.